“It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new life for me and I’m feeling good” – re-visited

At the beginning of the year I began the One A Day Blogging lark and as any regular reader or casual observer who glances at the archive section can tell you, that didn’t quite work out. I did January and February no problem and I achieved my personal goal of lasting to Feb 17th at least, but after that it all went a bit awry.

I’ve dipped my wick back in the blogging ink occasionally between March and July, one of them I felt was one of my best pieces all year, but getting back into daily blogging was proving difficult, time consuming, I wanted each blog to be just right before hitting publish. Upon reflection, the problem was my approach was all wrong, it had drifted from the original strategy as laid out by my friend and nemesis when he inspired me to jump on the oneaday ship in the first place. For reference here were the original rules for how to successfully manage your oneaday output:

1. Each post will take me roughly 15 minutes to write.
2. The subject will be whatever I fancy, really. Probably flitting between life rumblings, games discussion and maybe the odd attempt at writing some fiction.
3. After that, I’ll check it quickly for obvious spelling errors and then chuck it online.

It’s all in point 1 really, if i’m spending over 15 minutes i’m doing it wrong. Well it’s time to get back on track (co-incidentally, Martin who came up with the rules also ceased his regular Oneaday output on Feb 28th the same as I did, but I only discovered this when looking for the link to his original blog) and give it another go, as when I first started, I rather enjoyed it, there was a nice community vibe from all the fellow Oneaday bloggers, interaction and what have you. I wonder how many are still taking part? Anyone got an up to date number of the active participants?

Actually, balls to #oneaday, I enjoyed the blogging, the writing about things which interested me and that which made me feel worthwhile was when people would drop me a line saying they’d enjoyed it and most of all when I got to share my interests with others who then added this interest to their own. I’ll blog when I want, if that happens to be of an obscenely regular rate then so be it, but I shan’t be compelled to write something down every day like it’s some kind of job, I already have one of those.

But i’ve digressed, massively in fact, from the point of this blog. At time of writing I am kind of between jobs, well in a manner of speaking anyway. My last day at Konami was this previous Tuesday and tomorrow morning I start my new job at 2K Games. Six months have passed since I was listening to Micky Bubbles “Feelin’ Good” and I found myself listening to it again lately, partly because some fools insist the Muse version is better, but mostly as it’s so very appropriate.

It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new life for me and I’m feeling good.

6 responses to ““It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new life for me and I’m feeling good” – re-visited

  1. Personally I prefer the John Barrowman version.

    Also good luck for tomorrow. 🙂

  2. Haha, I wouldn’t say I prefer it really. I was originally writing ‘Nina Simone’ then changed my mind. 😀

  3. I hope you have a great first day, as a total coincidence I finished at my previous employer on Tuesday and start at a different studio also on Monday, how peculiar 🙂

  4. Mate, it is just good to hear that the world of chuch is all good. Need to catch up for a beer V soon

Leave a comment