First post of 2012!

This post is from the new blog I’m contributing to, Five Hombres

So here we are in 2012 and I am blogging again.

I gave it a go last year as part of the oneaday project along with Andy, we finished up pretty close in terms of blog count, Andy had 54 and I had 67. I may have stopped my output far sooner than Andy did, but for those first three glorious months I was polluting the internets with whatever had come into my head that day. Some of it was even quite educational and I had people who didn’t have anything to gain by doing so tell me so.

So here we are a year later, one of the Hombres, blogging once a week (although Andy will end up blogging twice this week as we unwittingly started on a Sunday) for the benefit of you lucky people.

I was torn on what to blog about today, did I want to beat the Entitlement Culture dead horse again? (I was doing that last January, before it was trendy in post-UKuncut world)

Was I to blog about all this nonsense about someone pretending to be Rupert Murdoch’s wife on Twitter? (The only interesting part of the whole thing is what prompted Twitter to “verify” the fake account, everything else was just tabloid bollucks which made me realise just how fundamentally boring the journalist twitterati are)

How about a response to Des dissing my shiney iPhone 4s yesterday? (I don’t need to, as his Nokia seems just as rubbish and has an inferior app store)

What about SOPA? (This issue is far more complicated than any of the have-a-go-boycotters on the internet give it credit for, but it was quite saddening during Christmas to see a very vocal “never forget, never forgive” approach towards GoDaddy’s initial support of it.)

No, I shall not blog about those things. I really did want to but frankly I don’t have enough time to dig out all the links and references to go with such posts. Instead I am going treat you to my New Years Resolutions (if it’s good enough for Andy)

1. Weight Watchers

Getting the kit for this is a right palava, one does not simply go to the weight watchers website and order a Deluxe (no messing about here, comes with a calculator) starter kit, oh no, you have to do it by phone or by fax…those are the only two options available, in TWO THOUSAND TWELVE!?

2. Set in motion my Gamesaid charity event

I pitched my admittedly ambitious idea at a meeting last year and was slightly overcome by the positive response, unfotunately due to one thing or another going on in my life I wasn’t able to give it my attention and bring the idea to fruition. (if you happen to have been at that meeting and are reading this do remind me you thought it was a good idea for motivation)

3. Learn how to contact juggle

I got the book and ball two years ago and never got to the stage where you roll the ball over your arms, this year I shall get this part nailed down.

4. Tell people who are important to me that they are important to me

Too often people take others for granted, don’t let them know just how valued they are to each other, myself included. I of course run the risk of being branded a sentimental soppy so and so with this resolution.

Leave a comment